In 2010, Interbiblio (at that time Verein Bücher ohne Grenzen Schweiz VBOGS) was awarded the prestigious Zurlauben-Preis für Sprach- und Buchkultur (Prize for Language and Book Culture) by the Landis & Gyr Foundation in Zug. The prize is worth CHF 100,000. The prize money was used for the development and implementation of the project «Schriften der Welt – Ecritures du monde – Scritture del mondo» (Scripts of the World).

Laudatio by Prof. Dr. Gianni D'Amato

Acceptance speech by Helene Schär, President of Interbiblio

In January 1994 Interbiblio (then VBOGS) received the «World Decade of Cultural Development» Award given by UNESCO.

Member libraries


2010: «Milieu du Monde» prize awarded by the cantonal consultative immigration chamber

2004: «Mérite de l'intégration» prize awarded by the municipality of Renens

2003: «Prix de l'éveil de la Fondation vaudoise» for the promotion of artistic creation

1999: «Mérite culturel et d'encouragement de la commune de Renens» / Merit award of the cultural promotion of the municipality of Renens


2012: «Prix schappo» for voluntary commitment in everyday life, awarded by the Canton of Basel-Stadt

2009: Basel Prize for Integration, awarded by the Ev.-Ref. and Roman Catholic churches of Basel, Novartis and the Christoph Merian Foundation

1997: Encouragement Award from the Jäggi bookshop

Zürich: Kanzbi

2004: «Ritter der Kommunikation», awarded by the Federal Office for Communication, for the digital integration in District 4 of the City of Zurich



We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.